In Business Central maintenance of the chart of accounts happen very rarely once it’s been set up for a company, but we can’t deny the fact that sometime it is really important to change that and in case we need to do it. So, in order to help in avoiding accidental deletion of general ledger (G/L) accounts, in this latest release of Business Central wave 2 Microsoft has added an extra check to better manging the change on the G/L Account.
If user turn on the setting on the General Ledger setup page, Business Central will prevent users from deleting accounts that have entries after the date that is specified in the “Check G/L Acc. Deletion After” field. If user must need to delete such accounts, a user who can access the General Ledger Setup page can turn off the Block Deletion of G/L Accounts setting in order to be able to delete the entries without having system to check and allow you to delete all the entries linked with the G/L Account to be deleted.
As best practice Microsoft recommend that we turn on the Block Deletion of G/L Accounts setting from the General Ledger Setup page and also we should always have a date set in the Check G/L Acc. Deletion After field.
Hope you guys found this information useful. For more information about what’s new in Business Central Wave 2 please follow our company linkedin page where you will get all the new updates every week.